Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Never had Kumhos

Old 05-10-2012, 08:11 PM
fatbillybob
Melting Slicks

Received 204 Likes on 160 Posts

Default Never had Kumhos

I have always raced T1 on ho-hos. I was actually having problems conveniently getting ho-hos so I decided to order a set of Kumho V710's to try. Onlinetires.com within a short drive got me these. This is how Kumho individually wraps and bands their tires to the customer. They seem to take pride in their tires and want to protect them in shipping. Is this attention to detail needed? I don't know but I have been buying race tires for a couple decades and I have never felt like a manufacturer gave a rat's a$$. Well it appears Kumho does. Kudos to Kumho.

Old 05-10-2012, 08:18 PM
Han Solo
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I've bought my fair share of Kumhos and never received any packaged like that.

I think you will like the way the 710 holds up through a session. I think they can take a little more heat than the A6.

I like to reverse the rotation on mine every other day. This helps keep the joints from separating I'm told.

Last edited by Han Solo; 05-10-2012 at 08:21 PM.
Old 05-10-2012, 08:30 PM
Falcon
Le Mans Master

Received 54 Likes on 23 Posts

I found the 710's to be extremely predictable, even after numerous heat cycles. They didn't have the initial grip of the A6's but they didn't go away like the A6's either.

I used them for years until Hoosier started the contingency program back in '08 or '09.

Let us know what you find with them. After Hoosier has made the days of payloads of tires scarce, the 710 is certainly a very viable option.
Old 05-11-2012, 07:23 PM
froggy47
Race Director

Received 194 Likes on 164 Posts

Originally Posted by fatbillybob