Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tire pressure and camber values ​​for Hoosier R100

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2012, 04:23 PM
Lasco001
Racer

Received 115 Likes on 72 Posts
Default Tire pressure and camber values ​​for Hoosier R100

Today I try to Hoosier R100 in the dimensions 285/645 x18 and 315/690x18 for my C5 and I bought and just received ZR1.
Normally I go with Michelin racing tires. So I have no experience with the Hoosier.
Now my question to you who know quite well the R100:
What pressure hot (bar) would you recommend me?
What would you recommend your camber me?
Is it good to drive with plenty of power, or you have to be careful that you do not have the tire goes?

Thank you for your help
Cölestin
Old 08-16-2012, 10:25 PM
BEZ06
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 833 Likes on 594 Posts

Hello Cölestin

Hopefully some real experts will chime in with info from actual track experience, but I'm not sure there are many owners running that tire.

However, here's some info from Hoosier about the R100:

http://www.hoosiertire.com/GTpsi.HTM

You can see that they have pressure recommendations for a 2650 pound car, but generally you will need to increase pressures as the weight increases - I would guess 3 to 4 psi (perhaps 0.2 to 0.3 bar) more for a Vette than those pressures published for the 2650 lb car.

Also, they don't have any camber recommendations, they just say to take temperature readings across the tread to determine the correct camber.

However, take a look at the info below for the A6/R6. It shows info about increasing pressures for heavier cars.

Also, they say camber is optimum at -3°, but that -2.5° is a good compromise for wear and speed. They say less than -2.5 will cause excessive wear on the shoulder, but I think many forum members might run slightly less than that.