Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hauling Vette with an enclosed trailer...

Old 03-02-2013, 12:36 PM
Exotica
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 52 Likes on 22 Posts

Default Hauling Vette with an enclosed trailer...

Looking for advice from anyone who has hauled their Vettes in an enclosed trailer.

I've never used one before and I am considering buying one for another business purpose but hoping it can double as a car hauler on occasion for my 2002 Z06. The inside dimensions of the trailer, while enough to clear on all sides of the car are so close that I'm wondering how reasonable it may be to think it will actually be useful.

The inside dimensions of the trailer are 186" long and 77" wide (at the wheel wells) and 90" wide above the wells.

The stock dimensions of the car are 73.6 inches wide (although mine might be slightly wider with the rubber I use, I'm not sure) and 180" long leaving about an inch and a half on either side and 3 inches each in the front and rear for clearance.

The concerns I have are two fold. First, with such close proximity to all sides would I reasonably be forced to push the car in rather than drive it in? Second, and more importantly, with the bouncing around of the trailer in transit will I be in jeopardy of having the car roll forward or back and hitting the inside of the trailer wall? Can they be strapped tight enough to keep them from moving 3 inches forward or back?

How reasonable is it to think this trailer will work as a car hauler?
Old 03-02-2013, 01:09 PM
AU N EGL
Team Owner

Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts

Look at the axle ratings on the trailer. Unless the axles are rated at 3500 each minimum, might want to pass. The cars weight, 3300 plus the trailers wt 3000 - 3500 lbs = 6600 to 7000 lbs not to count on the junk; tools, spare wheels.