Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need more power

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2013, 10:50 AM
jstout
Drifting

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Chattanooga Area Events Coordinator

Default Need more power

Based on new ST2 rules, I can make more power and still be legal. Prsently running Ls1 with Ls1 hot cam, Pac 1218 springs, and LS7 lifters. I need to make about 35 more horsepower to at least stay close to the front runners. Anyone have a recommendation for a cam I should consider? Thanks in advance. Jerry
Old 03-15-2013, 11:02 AM
spazegun2213
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Headers? intake? Fast mani? Past that I'm not a power expert, but 30hp seems like a LOT

There are lots of other ways to make that power. Also, what does your car weigh? have you put lexan in, taken out the lights and all that run stuff? There are 100 Ways to make our cars legal.
Old 03-15-2013, 11:12 AM
redtopz
Melting Slicks

Received 44 Likes on 27 Posts

My first question would be are you running stock LS1 heads? If so, that's probably your limitation right now.
Old 03-15-2013, 11:47 AM
sperkins
Le Mans Master

Received 44 Likes on 35 Posts

Jerry,
Look into shedding weight instead of adding horsepower. Horsepower can only be used under throttle. Weight affects the car 100% of the lap.
Old 03-15-2013, 11:43 PM
SouthernSon
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,103 Likes on 717 Posts

Jerry, which aftermarket exhaust cross over tube are you running? There are big differences in the power from one to the other.
Old 03-16-2013, 09:41 AM
GOTHAM VETTE
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

headers.....

and I just happen to have some for sale.
Old 03-16-2013, 10:51 AM
FASTFATBOY
Melting Slicks

Received 143 Likes on 121 Posts

LS6 heads with a light cleanup will get you there.