Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

NASA vs. SCCA

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2013, 07:33 PM
rynoracer32
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NASA vs. SCCA

Hi Guys,
I have been racing on and off with NASA for a couple years and I keep hearing about SCCA , I was wondering if anyone (who knows both organizations pretty well) could give me a non-biased opinion about the differences between the 2 organizations.
Old 03-22-2013, 08:09 AM
urtoslo
Pro

All right, I'll take a stab at this. I've been running with both about the same length of time, app 15 years. They both do about the same stuff, while SCCA breaks out a HPDE/TT weekend from a racing weekend, NASA stuffs them both in the same event. However, SCCA has the best corner workers hands down. They've been doing it longer and are really good at it, while NASA ranges from adequate to clueless.
Old 03-22-2013, 11:09 AM
Jaymz
Pro

Originally Posted by urtoslo
However, SCCA has the best corner workers hands down. They've been doing it longer and are really good at it, while NASA ranges from adequate to clueless.
That depends on the region. At MidOhio you will see the same corner workers working the NASA events as the SCCA events.

Last edited by Jaymz; 03-22-2013 at 11:10 AM. Reason: typo
Old 03-22-2013, 11:22 AM
gbvette62
Race Director

Received 2,029 Likes on 1,315 Posts

Originally Posted by Jaymz
That depends on the region. At MidOhio you will see the same corner workers working the NASA events as the SCCA events.
At NJ Motorsports Park, a lot of the same workers, seem to do all of the events. A large majority of them come from the South Jersey and Philadelphia SCCA Regions, and have been flagging for many years.
Old 03-22-2013, 01:12 PM
urtoslo
Pro

Originally Posted by gbvette62