Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dunlop slicks

Old 03-25-2013, 03:32 PM
MarkDFW
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dunlop slicks

I am new to R Comps and slicks. Burning through Kumho v710 right now, which are my first R comp. The v710 should last one more HPDE, and then I am going to run a nice set of dunlop slick scurbs with only 1 session that I managed to get my hands on.

What psi should I shoot for? I'm told slicks need less psi than R comps. I would shoot for around 34 - 36 psi on the v710. Should I shoot for 32 hot and start at 24 psi cold for the dunlops?

On a separate note, I only have about -1.2 camber so I will probably chew these up quickly, as I'm told slicks like a lot of negative camber. Doubt there is anything I can do about this. Car is my daily driver so I don't want -3 camber on a street car.
Old 03-25-2013, 03:55 PM
Werks
Drifting

Received 44 Likes on 32 Posts

Originally Posted by MarkDFW
On a separate note, I only have about -1.2 camber so I will probably chew these up quickly, as I'm told slicks like a lot of negative camber. Doubt there is anything I can do about this. Car is my daily driver so I don't want -3 camber on a street car.
If you don't want to run a lot of negative camber don't run slicks or R-comps lol, it's as easy as that. With only -1.2 camber you are going to eat up the outside edges of your tires on the track in no time. This is with both slicks and R compounds. Either that or learn how to change your alignment your self so that you can switch between a track alignment and a street set up.

If you do run the slicks I'm not familiar with the dunlops specifically but most seem to like to start of in the low to mid 20's cold and end up in the high 20's to low 30's hot.
Old 03-25-2013, 04:14 PM
MarkDFW
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by Werks