Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tire Pressure

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2013, 12:40 AM
Morris9
Instructor

Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts

Default Tire Pressure

I plan on auto-xing my 2003 Convetible, 6spd, Z51 with new Pilot Super Sports for the first time in A/Stock and wonder what pressure I should start at. I run 30psi for normal driving. I had to go with 245-40-17 frt. and 285-35-18 rear as that was the closest to stock size Michelin makes for a C5. I am just doing this for the fun, not a dedicated auto-xer yet just don't want to roll my tires off the wheels
Old 05-30-2013, 11:29 AM
froggy47
Race Director

Received 194 Likes on 164 Posts

I have no experience with those but I would go 36f/34r and mark the tires with white shoe polish to see clearly how far over they roll.

Add/subtract to control handling over/under steer and also to control roll over.

Old 05-30-2013, 12:53 PM
Gordy M
Melting Slicks

Received 315 Likes on 270 Posts

Stock tires for autocrossing come in many flavors, some are hard sidewall, some have medium sidewall and some are soft. I know individuals who are rather competitive and run all the flavors and all their pressures are a little different. I run the Hankook RS3 and start at 30/28 cold and by the third run the tires really come in. If I am at an event with back to back runs, I start with 1 lb less. My hot pressures are usually around 34/35 front and 30/31 rear. Remember, by the time you pit, get your tire gauge and check your pressures have cooled off from the exit temps. As most will tell you a tire temp reading is the best.