Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS2 with slicks for the first time, what should I expect?

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2013, 10:50 PM
yow
Pro

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default LS2 with slicks for the first time, what should I expect?

I've been doing HPDE for a few years in my 06 ls2 with A&A sc. It's been great and have had no mechanical issues. I got c5z rims and R6s that I'm going to use at Putnam Park in October. I've never driven slicks and would like some input on what to expect. Your thoughts?

Should I be too worried about oiling issues or anything else at Putnam? It's a stock motor, but for the A&A sc, Z06 transmission, and widebooty. I love this car and it has been a dream. I just don't want to bite off more than it can chew.
Old 09-11-2013, 10:59 PM
waddisme
Safety Car
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 45 Likes on 27 Posts

You can put an accusump in for cheap insurance motor. Also, might as well prepare for new front hubs, brake upgrade. and other things that will manifest itself quickly. BTW, enjoy !!!!
Old 09-11-2013, 11:03 PM
taken19
Track Junky

Received 29 Likes on 25 Posts
Tech Contributor

The biggest difference between street tires and slicks is that you can no longer rely on noise to tell you that the tires are at their limit. The R6's make very little noise (only when cold), so you have to rely on the feel through the steering wheel. Tire breakaway is still progressive but they will call off faster than street tires. You will have to learn to throttle steer as well.

I gotta tell ya, Hoosiers are like crack - extremely adicting! You will never want to go back...
Old 09-12-2013, 01:43 AM
crease-guard
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by taken19