Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C6 setup for A-Stock, STU or?

Old 02-07-2014, 04:22 PM
Petrolburner
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C6 setup for A-Stock, STU or?

I recently bought a nearly all stock C6 Z51 6 speed. It has Z06 wheels, knockoffs I think as it is still running stock size runflats. I'd like to have a car that I can enjoy as a daily driver, road tripper, HPDE, autocross and show car. I'd like to avoid shooting myself in the foot with a modification that will bump me into a class where I have no hope of being competitive. At the end of the day getting on the podium for an autocross that pays zero $ is not the most important thing, but if you're reading this you understand the overwhelming desire to be competitive. I'm also a USFS Pilot so during the fire season I may be unable to make a lot of events.

With the 2014 rule changes, what mods would you suggest to be competitive in A stock? STU? SS? I don't want to buy an extra set of wheels and tires, so if it takes R-comps to be competitive I'm just going to save that for the future. I'd really like to install a healthy sounding exhaust, but even after reading and re-reading the rules, I can't tell what that will do to my classification for autocross. The rules say;

15) Exhaust must exit behind driver or to the side of the car.

3.5 MUFFLERS
Adequate mufflers are required, not so much what it consists of but the overall volume, if too loud the chairman can kick you out.

C. Any part of the exhaust system beyond (downstream from) the headers, may be substitued or removed as long as it exits in the same place