Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brake Setups for Auto-X/SCCA Solo/HPDEs

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2014, 01:43 PM
67Riviera
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Brake Setups for Auto-X/SCCA Solo/HPDEs

Hey all,

I'm new to the vette scene, coming from Mazda - still figuring out the platform. Bought C5inWV's '07 C6 Z51 just a few weeks ago. Did a few hours of reading this morning but haven't found an answer to my specific questions. Drove the car at Road Atlanta this past weekend and had massive brake fade after a few laps, so here's what I intend to get - let the opinions fly. Keep in mind this is also my daily driver.

New rotors - DBA 4000 T3 slotted - I'd honestly prefer a blank rotor (no slotting, no drilling), but I'm having difficulty finding anything else.
New pads - recommendations? I've heard good things about the HPS pad, but I'm not sure it's aggressive enough. The HP+ might work, but I've also heard that they fade too fast under consistently heavy braking.
Stainless braided lines - brand suggestions?
DOT 4 Fluid - Used Motul RBF 600 fluid on my last car and was satisified with the results, anyone have better suggestions?

Are the stock calipers generally considered to have enough oomph, at least for a semi-noobie?

Thanks!

-Bryce
Old 04-29-2014, 01:58 PM
ltborg
Drifting

I use Motul 600 and have never had any issues with it. Seems to be some of the best stuff for the price.

I like my HP+'s but have heard the same thing, that they aren't great for the track. I did DD with them for a while on my last car and the only issue was a little bit of noise and a LOT of dust.
Old 04-29-2014, 02:29 PM
el es tu
Safety Car

Received 45 Likes on 40 Posts

I run HP+ and while they are miles beyond the factory pads, they still lack even for aggressive street use.