Drag Racing Results, Trap Speed, Reaction Time, Driving Technique, Tips for Running the Corvette in the ¼ & 1/8 mile, Events

A little feedback on my first few passes?

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2014, 03:54 PM
Danny Richie
Racer

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default A little feedback on my first few passes?

Hey guys, Just looking for some feedback. I have lots of racing experience but not much in a new Vette with street legal tires. Lots of new things to learn about these cars...

I am running a 2006 Vette with some bolt on's. I have an automatic with a 3800 rpm FTI converter. I am still running the stock 2.56 rear end gear. And I am running some Hoosier drag radials that are 335/30/18's.

Three runs on 3/29: I was running 25 pounds of air pressure and leaving at about 1500 rpms.

60 ft 1.6557
330 ft 4.881
660 ft 7.5052
mph 91.93

60 ft 1.6904
330 ft 4.8738
660 ft 7.4719
mph 92.50

60 ft 1.6493
330 ft 4.8592
660 ft 7.4527
mph 92.88

Two runs on 4/18: I dropped the tire pressure to 24 pounds and again left at about 1500 rpms.

60 ft 1.6893
330 ft 4.8658
660 ft 7.4509
mph 93.38

60 ft 1.6695
330 ft 4.8267
660 ft 7.4044
mph 93.50

All runs were with traction controlled turned back on. Yes, I know I am being cautious.

Wondering what it might take to drop a couple more tenths though.

How low can I drop the air pressure on these drag radials before I twist them off the rim? I'd hate to do that.

And I am pretty sure I can leave harder with this converter but wanted to just make a few clean passes with no problems first. And bringing the rpms up on this converter at the line is is going to take some practice.

Will dropping the rear end gear to a 3.15 or 3.42 make much difference? I hate to give up my 27 to 28 miles per gallon on the highway for only a marginal change.

I just feel like my 60 ft times are not what they could be.

Thoughts?
Old 04-22-2014, 11:27 AM
Joe_G
Tech Contributor

Received 252 Likes on 217 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08