Drag Racing Results, Trap Speed, Reaction Time, Driving Technique, Tips for Running the Corvette in the ¼ & 1/8 mile, Events

old-school, hand-made restrictor plate

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2015, 02:09 PM
Glensgages
Race Director

Received 62 Likes on 35 Posts

Default old-school, hand-made restrictor plate

recently, a racer asked if I could make him a 4-hole restrictor plate, to fit under his carburetor, to keep the car from running too-fast for his class, and chassis certification:
I have been making gages (or templates) by-hand since 1984, and in the past, I have been asked to do this for other racers who index race, so this time, I took a few photos with my new camera, to show how this is done (and, figure-out how to use this camera)

First, the racer sent me a gasket to fit under the carburetor, which I used to determine the exterior shape & size, locate the 4 bolt-holes, and accurate locate the centers of the throttle bore:
I made a rough diagram, or blue-print, which I would use to follow during the fabrication process

next, I took a scrap piece of .063"-thick aluminum from my pile of stock

then, I scuffed-up one side with 60-grit paper using an old rotary sander, and used a thin coat of dye to 'paint' that side

then, using a machinist's square, I made the lower Right corner in this photo absolutely square, with a 90* corner, marking it with a Silver 'X'

after stamping the piece '1.625' (the racer asked for a plate with four holes, each being 1 5/8" in diameter), I used the height gage (seen next to the aluminum) to strike lines perpendicular to each-other, locating the exact centers of the bolt-holes and throttle bores, as-well-as laying-out the exterior dimensions

using layout dividers (seen next to the machinist's square), I could scribe the bolt-holes & throttle bores, and using radius gages, I scribed the corners, rounded-off at 1/2" radius