Go Back   Corvette Forum > Off Topic > Off Topic
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ Vendor Directory
Search
Off Topic
Off Topic | Non-Corvette Sponsored by
Bondurant School of HPD

Welcome to Corvetteforum.com!
Welcome to Corvetteforum.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join Corvetteforum.com today!


Corvette Store
 
 
C7 Parts & Accessories
C6 Parts & Accessories
C5 Parts & Accessories
C4 Parts & Accessories
C3 Parts & Accessories
C2 Parts & Accessories
C1 Parts & Accessories
Wheels & Tires
Sponsored Ads
 
 
Vendor Directory
  
Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-18-2009, 12:12 AM   #1
DSOM Z06
CF Senior Member
 
DSOM Z06's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jun 2004
Location: SI/Bklyn New York
Default How can I connect my Blackberry to my Wi-Fi?

I have verizon Fios and the new BB Curve 8350i by Sprint/Nextel which when I attemp to establish a connection says that it has found my network but it keeps asking me for my Pre-Shared Key (PSK) but according to my computer that is a protected word that is indicated by ****** asteriks and I have no idea what it is so I keep getting the message "Failed to authenticate against the network" and I am unable to establish a connection. Also when I enter the numbers/letters written on the underside of the router itself I am also unable to connect. Anyone?
DSOM Z06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 12:17 AM   #2
DOOKEY
CF Senior Member
 
DOOKEY's Avatar
 
Member Since: Nov 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Default

You need to login in to your wireless router and set the PSK. If you have already done so then you need to enter that password into the BB.

Is the verizon Fios thing your wireless router?
DOOKEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 11:18 AM   #3
DSOM Z06
CF Senior Member
 
DSOM Z06's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jun 2004
Location: SI/Bklyn New York
Default

Yes but somebody else set up my password. Can I just reset it on my laptop that I am using wirelessly or will that not allow me to logon again?
DSOM Z06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 11:29 AM   #4
DOOKEY
CF Senior Member
 
DOOKEY's Avatar
 
Member Since: Nov 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Default

either ask that person for the PSK or login to your router and change it. You need the admin password to login to the router. On most routers you need your network cable plugged into the 1 port on the back to gain access. However, I have no idea about your fios card. Any chance the person who set it up for you would remember either password?
DOOKEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 11:30 AM   #5
Indy-hp
CF Senior Member
St. Jude Donor '09
 
Indy-hp's Avatar
 
Member Since: Nov 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSOM Z06 View Post
Yes but somebody else set up my password. Can I just reset it on my laptop that I am using wirelessly or will that not allow me to logon again?
You will need your original PSK even to reset it. Try looking at the wireless settings on your laptop, they might show the PSK.
Indy-hp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 11:32 AM   #6
NavyC5
CF Senior Member
CI 3-4-5-6-10 Veteran
St. Jude Donor '03-'06-'08-'09-'10
 
NavyC5's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jun 2000
Default

Easiest thing to do is a hard reset of the router. Should be a reset button on the router. Hold it down for 15 to 20 seconds. That should put the router back to it's original settings. No PSK. If it's a linksys router connect your laptop to it with a Cat5 cable. And go to the following IP.

192.168.1.1

Should be able to change all the settings including setting a password and PSK
NavyC5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 01:03 PM   #7
DSOM Z06
CF Senior Member
 
DSOM Z06's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jun 2004
Location: SI/Bklyn New York
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NavyC5 View Post
Easiest thing to do is a hard reset of the router. Should be a reset button on the router. Hold it down for 15 to 20 seconds. That should put the router back to it's original settings. No PSK. If it's a linksys router connect your laptop to it with a Cat5 cable. And go to the following IP.

192.168.1.1

Should be able to change all the settings including setting a password and PSK
It is a Verizon Fios router.
DSOM Z06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 01:08 PM   #8
Scoob
CF Senior Member
 
Scoob's Avatar
 
Member Since: Mar 1999
Location: Life's tough, wear a helmet. NJ
Default

You let someone set a password that you don't know?
Scoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 02:18 PM   #9
NavyC5
CF Senior Member
CI 3-4-5-6-10 Veteran
St. Jude Donor '03-'06-'08-'09-'10
 
NavyC5's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jun 2000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSOM Z06 View Post
It is a Verizon Fios router.
Does it have a reset button? If so push it then give Verizon a call on what IP address to connect to. It may be the same one.
NavyC5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 02:18 PM
 
Go Back   Corvette Forum > Off Topic > Off Topic
Reload this Page How can I connect my Blackberry to my Wi-Fi?
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
authenticate, bb, blackberry, connect, failed, fios, key, linksys, network, pre, psk, router, shared, unable, verizon, wifi


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Click for Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Emails & Password Backup