Other Cars Non-Corvette Content, Daily Drivers, Winter Beaters, Work Trucks, Tow Vehicles, for sale

My impression of CTS-V after 1 week

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2011, 05:50 PM
calherc1
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default My impression of CTS-V vs. ZO6 after 1 week

I know this is a Corvette Forum, but it seems a lot of you (us) have some interest in the new CTS-V, so I figured I'd post my opinion after 1 week of ownership. Just a little background: I just sold my 2006 ZO6 for a 2009 CTS-V (Blk/Blk). This was my 4th. Vette. I've had just about every modern American muscle/sports car made. 3 Camaros, 2 SRT-8, 1 SRT-10, IROC, Trans-Am, Grand National, you name it. Anyway, I'm no expert and have only been to the track twice, but here is my take:

Looks: ZO6 by far. Caddy is okay at best, but I did not buy it for looks.

Performance-straight line: ZO6, but not by much. From seat of the pants, the ZO6 driver better be on his/her "A" game or you'll be seeing Caddy tail lights (seriously) it's that fast.

Handling: ZO6 (surprise). Caddy does a great job for a sedan, but it still feels big too me. Not quick and agile like the ZO6.

Comfort/drive: Caddy by far. ZO6 was only good for short drives for me, but I am 6'3" 260lbs so it got a little crampy.

Gas mileage: ZO6. Caddy sucks (literally), but again I did not buy it for economy.

Bells & whistles: Caddy. I'm still trying to figure out how everything works.

Basically, like a lot have posted previously, they are apples to oranges. The CTS-V works for me because I need a 4 seater, but still have the need for speed. I don't track, so it was a good choice for me. Just my 2 cents for those interested or on the fence.

Last edited by calherc1; 07-06-2011 at 06:21 PM.
Old 07-06-2011, 05:58 PM
Les
Race Director

Received 961 Likes on 571 Posts