Pacific Northwest Idaho | Oregon | Washington | Hawaii | Alaska.

Mid-Engined ZR1 Anyone?

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2014, 10:11 PM
Mufflerbearing
Burning Brakes

Received 36 Likes on 32 Posts

Default Mid-Engined ZR1 Anyone?

http://wot.motortrend.com/1408_scoop...e_is_a_go.html
Old 08-14-2014, 11:12 PM
Mr. Peabody
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 476 Likes on 353 Posts
C4 of Year Finalist (appearance mods) 2019

Gosh.... just think about how upset the round taillight needers would be with a mid engine vette but on the other hand ............ the Corvette Zora would be the right name for it
Old 08-15-2014, 01:12 AM
last901
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 88 Likes on 77 Posts

Oh, god, this again?

A mid engine Corvette has been rumored since Hector was a pup - whatever that means.

I'll believe it when I see it, though I can't help wonder whether it's inevitable? I've been doing so since 1968. Shortly after the Corvair was doomed.

If it happens, it happens. Who really cares? I don't. Who ever heard of a mid-engined Supercar with pushrods? See what I'm getting at?

It's okay and arguably long overdue. Ferrari's been building mid-engined sports cars since the early 70's. Even Pontiac did so with the Fiero. Chevrolet has "borrowed" so many cues from Ferrari since 1955 that nothing would surprise me. In fact, if I'd known this story was going to last this long I think I might have done well to save all the magazines that mentioned it.

Come to think about it, I have so many boxes of old car magazines on my garage shelves, I may very well have all those magazines.

Tell you what; if I was perusing the magazine rack at, say, Barnes and Noble and saw a magazine cover with the "news" that there might be a mid-engined Corvette in our future I wouldn't even pick it up.

In fact, this is getting to be almost an annual rumor. So much so that I don't think I'll even bother to respond to Pat's original post.

Oh... wait