Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Sanded thru primer, what to do next

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2008, 03:14 PM
Steve81
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Sanded thru primer, what to do next

This is my first try at painting and so far things are going pretty well. I sprayed the epoxy sealer then a couple of coats of 2K primer. While blocking it down, I when thru the primer & sealer to the glass and filler in some spots. I was going to re-spray them with the sealer. Problem is, I used it all (rookie mistake). I really don't want to spend another $200 on epoxy sealer & activator. The 2K primer I'm using is BASF RM Powerfil is pretty good stuff and the MSDS sheets says "Excellent adhesion and corrosion resistance on virtually any substrate such as galvanized, aluminum, aluminum alloys, steel, old paint, plastics, fiberglass, SMC and body filler." So I'm wondering if I even need to seal up these spots. (The guy at the supply house asked me why I was using both to begin with). So what do you think, seal it or just spray another coat of 2K?
Old 09-19-2008, 06:12 PM
JimiHendrix
Drifting

Received 33 Likes on 30 Posts

I am not claiming to be an expert at painting. . . and I definitely am not. But in painting my Targa top, I did the same thing. I used 2k primer (dupont brand however) with no ill results. The primer itself is a good sealer and I;ve read where some experienced paint guys use it as a sealer because it is quite tough. What may be an issue however is if the epoxy sealer and the primer are drastically different colors. You may have to apply more base for consistent color.

Do a search on sealers. Anyway, I am not an expert . . . so this basically is a bump.

I believe that 2k sealer would be just fine. The primer itself acts as a sealer, although, it

Originally Posted by Steve81