Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Spraygun's barn find

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2011, 01:42 PM
Spraygun
Tech Contributor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Spraygun's barn find

As a motorhead finding old cars and parts in barns that haven't seen the light of day for decades is one of my favorite things. As a motorhead painter I've always looked for vintage tools and materials. Mostly I find dried up cans of primer and color. Today as luck would have it, I've stumbled upon some quality stuff. While poking though old Ford parts and tools I found cabinets full of unopened product.

Sealed gallons of Nitrocelluloseblack lacquer.

sealed quarts of candies, even discontinued colors like Deep Blue C21
I wasn't able to see all of it today unfortunatly, I'll have to go back next week.
Old 10-24-2011, 03:00 PM
Keith Carlson
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

A few "Classics"!

Get out the old, original cloth baby diapers to do a little "hand rubbin".
Old 10-24-2011, 03:44 PM
Spraygun
Tech Contributor

Back in the day, I watched guys spray DULUX then take a hose and run cold water over it, supposed to help it flow.... I watched a guy take his gun full off DULUX and sit it on the wood stove to heat it up before spraying ( I think thats an OSHA violation now)

I'm bummed, sprayed vette parts yesterday, came out sweeeeet, 3 coats of 8035 HS over blueblack, idiot owner baked at 150 after I told him not to. Runs, solvent pops, etc.
Old 10-24-2011, 09:20 PM
Keith Carlson
Racer

Originally Posted by Spraygun
Back in the day, I watched guys spray DULUX then take a hose and run cold water over it, supposed to help it flow.... I watched a guy take his gun full off DULUX and sit it on the wood stove to heat it up before spraying ( I think thats an OSHA violation now)

I'm bummed, sprayed vette parts yesterday, came out sweeeeet, 3 coats of 8035 HS over blueblack, idiot owner baked at 150 after I told him not to. Runs, solvent pops, etc.