Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Frame paint choices

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2014, 01:35 PM
gccch
Drifting

Received 87 Likes on 35 Posts

Default Frame paint choices

I am a beginner doing my first frame off. Had the frame sandblasted then applied SEM self etching primer. It has been in the garage since May in this condition while I learned how to weld in replacement pieces where there was rust in the frame. It look a long time due to many distractions.

Now I have the repairs done, I am finding some areas that did not get completely cleaned during sandblasting need to be redone. I am questioning the choice of self etch primer as first coating.

Some have since told me I should have used epoxy primer over bare metal. SEM says self etching is also for bare metal to promote adhesion. They say next I should go to a Urethane primer.

Most of the frame is clean, ready for the next step. I have a few areas I want to do over to be sure the rust is completely removed.

The car will see limited use, as a fair weather occasional driver.

Am I ok to proceed with Urethane primer then top coat chassis black? Or was my first choice way off and will haunt me forever? Is this a do over with epoxy primer over bare metal then final top coat?

I do not have the best facility for painting. I have a nice garage that is over crowded - but short term eviction of the wife's car and motorcycles is possible. I can also break into the home heating system for short term heat as it is now too cold outside to paint. But this is my first time....

Thanks,
Greg
Old 11-17-2014, 05:23 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

For whatever it is worth. Because I do it rarely due to costs. For me it is cost effective for my customers to send out a frame along with numerous other parts and have it powder coated.