Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Bought wing and sideskirts; want to put in primer

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2014, 08:47 PM
volkswagens-for-life
Melting Slicks

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Bought wing and sideskirts; want to put in primer

So my car is red (and needs paint..) and I have installed a new wing and sideskirts that are white from the factory. Pretty sure they are fiberglass. I'd really like to get them into a red primer so they kinda-sort match the car and I dont look so dooshy driving it until the car gets painted. And since it's winter, I've got some spare time on my hands.

What are my options for paint? I'm not a pro, so I def. dont have a gun. Will ****-can automotive primer work for this?

Pic of said body pieces:

Old 11-29-2014, 09:28 PM
LAddams
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I had really good result painting the replacement front bumper on my 99 mustang with rattle cans from automotivetouchup.
Even has cans of clear. Has most colors, had the electric green for my car which is a one year rare color. Worth a shot esp if you dont have a sprayer.
Old 11-29-2014, 09:44 PM
volkswagens-for-life
Melting Slicks

I wish I knew what the actual material is, but if you look on the inside of the panels (I know, not all attached in this pic) its fiberglass looking strands. The outside, the part you see, is very smooth plastic. Will I have to sand this down and ****-can it?
Old 11-30-2014, 06:37 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

It is more than likely fiberglass and the white is the gelcoat. You should have some parting lines where the white is slightly raised where the molds joined. This is normal and will require sanding.

You can do what you want....but it is hard for me to tell you to use a rattle can and then you run into a cluster. There are some rattle can primers out on the market but that are expensive because they are a professional grade and not some stuff from a big box store.