Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

What do you use to fill in fiberglass imperfections

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2015, 10:24 AM
volkswagens-for-life
Melting Slicks

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default What do you use to fill in fiberglass imperfections

Basically, there is a hole in the hood of my c4. I filled it in and made a pretty damn good, solid surface. Now to fill in the minor imperfections and make it butter smooth, what do I fill it in with? I'm not a pro by any means, but can do a lot of work myself and choose to.

IE, will bondo fill in the fiberglass, allowing me to sand it to a smooth surface? Tiger-Hair? Etc...
Old 06-19-2015, 01:55 PM
phrogs
Race Director

Received 34 Likes on 22 Posts

My first question is what exactly did you fill the hole with initially.

If it wasn't specifically labeled to work on SMC which is what your Hood is made from.

So lets figure that out first and go from there.

Maybe post a photo of what your working with as well.

Plenty of good products out there to work on these.
Old 06-19-2015, 02:01 PM
volkswagens-for-life
Melting Slicks

I used fiberglass cloth/hardener kit. It's a great bond right now, I can lightly punch it and it's rock solid. Here is a picture of the product as it sits right now. I just need to fill in the minor imperfections so I can sand it down and get ready for paint.

Drivers side hood
Old 06-19-2015, 06:03 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

Originally Posted by volkswagens-for-life
I used fiberglass cloth/hardener kit. It's a great bond right now, I can lightly punch it and it's rock solid. Here is a picture of the product as it sits right now. I just need to fill in the minor imperfections so I can sand it down and get ready for paint.