Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Might have found a painter, but I see red flags!

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2015, 05:50 PM
Denpo
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 127 Likes on 68 Posts
2022 C3 of the Year Finalist - Modified

Default Might have found a painter, but I see red flags!

Hi guys.
I've been restoring my '76 for about 6 years.
With time the project morphed from fixing a DD to making a rather exotic restomod.
It's always been a budget build, pouring more hours and DIY to compensate the lack of funds.
So far so good, but now I need to get the car painted.
A bad paintjob would ruin all the hard work.
Given the lack of room for learning errors, I'm trying to get this done by someone else.
With an expected budget of 3k$ I probably will never find a established shop, so I looked for unofficial painters in the classified.
And I found one promising candidate.

-Old dude, sounded calm and composed.
-Semi retired, he told me he ran a performance part shop, making aero parts amongst other things, so he's used to fiberglass and painting.
-He's done recently a couple of friend's cars, saw the pics, looked fine.
-He proposed PPG paint: he understood I'm looking for something above the ordinary.
-I exposed the steps I envisioned for the paintjob, and he agreed.

Now here comes the red flags :
-We talked about degreasing the fiberglass, I proposed PPG DX103, and said he would use soap and water "as he always did".
-He wouldn't use a paint booth, he's doing it outside. He declined the offer to rent one for him.

While he sounded very knowledgeable and experimented, I can't wrap my mind about those two facts.
What do you guys think? Justified concerns?
Old 06-30-2015, 06:11 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

Originally Posted by Denpo
Now here comes the red flags :
-We talked about degreasing the fiberglass, I proposed PPG DX103, and said he would use soap and water "as he always did".