Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

64 silver blue paint help

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2016, 05:45 PM
ry57pont
Racer

Received 23 Likes on 15 Posts

Default 64 silver blue paint help

I'm painting a couple of pieces on my 64 silverblue, car will be painted next. . I noticed on the valance it seems a bit "blotchy" in the right light. I know silverblue is a high metallic and I am a novice painter. Any tips to prevent "blotchy" all help is appreciated, thanks.
Old 12-20-2016, 05:48 PM
ry57pont
Racer

Not sure if I can capture the blotchyness in a pic..

Last edited by ry57pont; 12-20-2016 at 05:50 PM.
Old 12-21-2016, 05:26 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

I see the 'blotchy' effect.

But unless you EXACTLY describe what you did...and what products you used....and I mean as EXACTLY as possible. I can not tell you what you did to cause this.

And I need to know flash times and air temperatures. Grade of reducer you used and how you thinned it and what type of needle you are using when you sprayed it....and if it is basecoat/clearcoat or single stage metallic.

To be honest and NOT wanting to be a smart a$$...when that panel is installed... and the angle it is installed at...I seriously doubt you would see it.

But I will do all I can to tell you what you did wrong...or what caused this.

Not saying that you can't spray this color....and like I often tell people...TEST, TEST, TEST ...before you go and spray the paint so you KNOW what to expect. This is not an easy color for me...and I have been painting for over 30+ years. It commands lot of respect and attention. This silver/blue metallic is MURDER for even the best of us to get PERFECT. Technique and KNOWING your products and equipment is what can come into play here.

DUB

Last edited by DUB; 12-21-2016 at 05:31 PM.
Old 12-22-2016, 07:17 AM
ry57pont
Racer