CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C3 Tech/Performance (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c3-tech-performance-3/)
-   -   Edelbrock Streetmaster intake? (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c3-tech-performance/2973578-edelbrock-streetmaster-intake.html)

Coogjen 12-28-2011 10:40 PM

Edelbrock Streetmaster intake?

Hey everyone, another newbie here. I was wondering if it would be worth it to replace my single plane Edelbrock Streetmaster intake manifold with a newer dual plane manifold like the Edelbrock Performer 2101. It's a 1971 Corvette with a 350 that was rebuilt about 12 years ago. I have only had the car for a few months and the previous owner only knew a little about what was done when it was rebuilt, which it that it has: Dart 2 aluminum heads, RV cam, flat top pistons, Edelbrock carb #1406, Headers, and Edelbrock Streetmaster intake. I have read that the Streetmaster is way old and the newer manifolds are much better. Just curious if the performance gain would be worth the time and money to replace it.

Roughrider 12-28-2011 10:50 PM

The Streetmaster may be old but that doesn't mean it's not a good intake. Basically it comes down to what you want out of it. Everything else being equal (which it rarely is), a dual-plane gives better idle and lower end performance where a single-plane intake gives better high end but less low end torque and a poor idle by comparison.

If you do decide to change intakes, I would suggest a Performer EPS rather than the Performer 2101...it's optimized specifically for the square-bore carburetor like your 1406. The 2101 is made to use either a square-bore or a spread-bore like a Q-jet. The EPS gives somewhat better horsepower and torque numbers than the 2101 since it's less of a compromise.

You can always contact Edelbrock's techs...give them what you have now and see what recommendations they come up with.