CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/)
-   C6 Corvette General Discussion (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c6-corvette-general-discussion-74/)
-   -   LS3 Dry Sump Oil Change How to With Pics (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c6-corvette-general-discussion/3164546-ls3-dry-sump-oil-change-how-to-with-pics.html)

GM'er 11-10-2012 05:43 PM

LS3 Dry Sump Oil Change How to DIY With Pics

21 Attachment(s)
So, I searched the forum and FAQ, and I could not find an LS3 dry sump oil change thread with pictures. So here is mine. This is certainly not the only way, and maybe not even the best way, but it's how I did it.

I'll start by saying this is my first time changing the oil on my 2012 Grand Sport. I wanted to change before putting it away for the winter, and it has 1456 miles on the clock. I read all of the info I could find, but I got lazy and didn't go buy jacking pucks, and I don't have ramps, so I wanted a way to do it without them, and without damaging anything.

I started to do the change a week ago and just thought backing up onto a couple 2x10's would be high enough, but it wasn't. I could slide under the car up to my chest, but that was it. For all of you wet sump folks, this would have been high enough becasue you only have to access one drain plug and the filter on the side of the pan. The dry sump has an additional drain plug right at the front of the pan in the center of the car, so I needed to get higher. So here is how it went today:

I started by taking a spin around the block to get the oil up to temp. I like doing my oil changes with warm oil as it flows better, and anything that is in the oil gets mixed up and suspended in the oil where it can drain out, instead of sitting at the bottom of the pan.