Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C6 Z06 Shocks -- DRM vs VIKING DA

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2016, 10:05 AM
Mig233
Racer

Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts

Default C6 Z06 Shocks -- DRM vs VIKING DA

Hey everyone. I'm fairly new to the c6 z06 community having just picked one up in April. I am coming out of a 2004 z06, which I sold in March. I thought that car was very well damped, and I'm not crazy about how my new 2009 z06 feels. Grips like hell, but feels floaty and a little unsettled at speed. My car is stock, with a fresh set of Potenza RE-11s. I only plan on getting an alignment and slightly lowering the ride height. I do not plan on tracking the car, but I want the car to respond and feel like a z06 should.

I have read outstanding things about the DRM Bilsteins and was Planning on ordering a set due to the rave reviews and Randy's recommendations. However, I also stumbled across Viking double adjustable shocks for a couple hundred more dollars. Are these worth the extra money? Does anyone have any experience with either or both of these shocks?

I used to race motorcycles and have had some experience tuning my own suspension on 2 wheels. But I don't want to be messing around with adjustment screws every time I drive the car. I would like to get it set and just drive. Any input is appreciated.
Old 07-20-2016, 11:04 AM
MongoZ06
Pro

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

Here'a bump for you on this one. I'm curious about the Viking products as well. I got to mess with them at a PRI show a couple of years ago and they seemed like quality pieces but feedback on them in the corvette world seems scarce.
Old 07-20-2016, 11:12 AM
froggy47
Race Director

Received 194 Likes on 164 Posts

Originally Posted by MongoZ06