C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

85 c4 suspension

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2016, 03:35 PM
Allen90
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 85 c4 suspension

Hey yall I recently purchased polyurethane bushing replacement sets for rear and front suspension on my 85 z51I'm considering doing the work myself I'm not a mechanic but I am mechanically inclined do yall think the project would be too much to handle by myself or is there any advice y'all can give me on doing myself
Old 08-28-2016, 06:12 PM
Carvet
Heel & Toe

I did my own on the sway bars and linkages. Was pretty easy, had to press out some of them with a bench vise. It felt like a new car when I was done. I'm not a mechanic but have always tinkered with my cars.
Old 08-28-2016, 07:12 PM
JrRifleCoach
Team Owner

Location: Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction.
Received 640 Likes on 444 Posts
St. Jude '03-'04-'05-'06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'18-‘19-'20-'21-'22-'23-'24

Something to remember.. Tight is not always right.
Old 08-29-2016, 05:17 PM
hawk454
Racer

Received 79 Likes on 68 Posts

Over the summer, I changed out most of the bushings on my new to me 1989 C4. If you can put your car on jack stands and get a ball joint service kit (very large C-clamp with various tubular attachments) you can do all the work yourself. There are 24 mm, 22 mm, 19 mm, 18 mm, 15 mm, and maybe some other common sizes. Get sockets and open end wrenches for those sizes. Also for reassembly, get blue lock-tite and 20 to 180 pound torque wrench. Add beer, degreaser, and lots of sweat and you can do it!

Last edited by hawk454; 08-29-2016 at 05:18 PM.
Old 08-29-2016, 11:53 PM
drcook
Safety Car

Received 959 Likes on 734 Posts
Finalist 2020 C4 of the Year - Modified

Please read these:

http://tech.corvettecentral.com/2013...sion-overview/

http://tech.corvettecentral.com/2014...shing-service/