C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hinson 1 7/8 headers and off road pipes = disaster

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2016, 12:55 AM
soulmax
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Hinson 1 7/8 headers and off road pipes = disaster

Hello.

First I would like to official say hello to other vette owners. This is my first domestic toy and I'm very excited about the car and to be a part of the community. I have been reading this forum for couple years on and off and I been a member of many other forums such as nasioc, s2ki, clubwrx, clubrsx, evolutionm and etc. I'm not new to modifying vehicles as I did that since 99, but I am new to LS engines. I've read a lot, but first time owner. Enough intro, let's get to it.

I picked up an 05 C6 LS2 in 6 speed with low miles with Borla catback classic system. It sounded great but I wanted more power. I got my hands on 5 months used Hinson Motorsports' ceramic coated headers with off road x pipe for a great deal. My initial plan was to put the oem axleback exhaust on the car and install hinson headers and x pipe and sell the borla. I would usually do this type of job myself as it's not that complicated, but with few hundred dollars I saved on the parts I thought I'll let the shop take care of it.

Apparently Hinson x pipe does not have rear o2 sensor bung. So mechanic told me he will install it where x pipe is. I bought two angled defouler for rear o2 sensors so I don't get CEL. I dropped off the car as they told me that it'll be worked on it first thing in the morning.