Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C6 Grand Sport. My next track car?

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2016, 09:58 PM
srproductions
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default C6 Grand Sport. My next track car?

It's been a few years since I got rid of my C5 Z06 track car. I owned and tracked a couple different cars in between those years including a Spec Miata, S2000 race car, and currently a Cayman S and a 300HP Miata (Honda K24 engine).

With 5 cars currently in the household, I'm looking to downsize the Miata and Cayman to 1 car I can use on the track and as a weekend car.

The C5 Z06 market seems to have risen a little since I got rid of mine. Experience wise, I'm a instructor and have been tracking for 11 years now. To get a C5 to the level I expect for heavy track use, I would need a trans cooler, diff cooler, radiator, oil cooler, SKF hubs, harness bar, seat, harness, big brake kit, Turn One PS, and upgraded suspension. I figure I can purchase a car like that for around $25k or build one for around $27-28k starting with a stock Z06 and buying used components.

After looking at a number of Grand Sport cars available for low 30's, it seems this would be a better option. The GS comes equipped with all the coolers. It is a fairly modern car so I suspect I maybe happy with the suspension for a while so need to upgrade here. It seems the reliability for the dry sump LS3 is fairly strong with the only required upgrade on the GS being a big brake kit. I figure I can get into a GS for few grand more then a setup C5Z and just install the safety gear and brakes to be ready to go. Ultimately, it is a significantly nicer and newer car in the process.

Am I missing anything as far as C6 GS track reliability?

I'd appreciate any inputs or thoughts on this decision.

Thanks!
The following users liked this post: