Sponsored by:

[Z06] '04 Z16 panel cleaning

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2016, 07:47 PM
gbrtng
Burning Brakes

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts

Default '04 Z16 panel cleaning

Noob here ... what's the accepted method for cleaning and preserving the CE Z16 appiiques? I have hard well water out here in the country and water spots are unavoidable.

Glenn
Old 12-05-2016, 08:13 PM
Z.youngg85@gmail.com
Advanced

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by gbrtng
Noob here ... what's the accepted method for cleaning and preserving the CE Z16 appiiques? I have hard well water out here in the country and water spots are unavoidable.

Glenn
Have you looked into any of the ceramic coatings and other sealant options out there? This would give a nice barrier of protection against hard water stains and other outdoor problems.

Check out autogeek, detailedimage and a few other higher end detail/ car cleaning outlets will have options to fit your application.
Old 12-06-2016, 08:04 AM
Ron C!
Safety Car

Received 195 Likes on 153 Posts

I have always treated the stripes as I do the paint. Many coats of Zaino. Only issue I have had is that I got a dark spot on the hood stripe. I discovered that it was water dripping from the garage door when opened, it dripped on the car cover and the damp fabric allowed the stripe to absorb moisture. A few hours out in the sun a couple times and the spot dried out.
Old 12-06-2016, 08:16 AM
2TONE82
Melting Slicks

Received 310 Likes on 133 Posts

Same here, just wax along with the rest of the car. I have a rock chip in a stripe on the roof but other than that they are good. I'll admit, #165 hasn't seen much road time/sun lately; just over 45K miles on her now.