Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] Is this normal lifter sound coming from the LS7 or something else?

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2016, 05:39 PM
milosav2
Instructor

Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Is this normal lifter sound coming from the LS7 or something else?

Hi all. I am new to the LS7 and was wondering if the clicking sound you hear in my video below is just normal idle sound of the lifters or something totally different?

Sorry for the dark video, but at least the sound translated over well enough to hear.

Thanks much for any input.

VIDEO:

Old 12-07-2016, 06:32 PM
Dan_the_C5_Man
Le Mans Master

Received 444 Likes on 326 Posts

The majority of what you are hearing is the fuel injectors cycling. The light tapping is typical, within the normal range of an LSx motor.

Last edited by Dan_the_C5_Man; 12-07-2016 at 07:09 PM.
Old 12-07-2016, 07:18 PM
milosav2
Instructor

Thank you for clearing that up for me. So would you say the actual "clicking" sound comes from the plunger in this gif:

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikiped.../Injector3.gif

?

Originally Posted by Dan_the_C5_Man
The majority of what you are hearing is the fuel injectors cycling. The light tapping is typical, within the normal range of an LSx motor.
Old 12-07-2016, 07:26 PM
Dan_the_C5_Man
Le Mans Master

Received 444 Likes on 326 Posts

Originally Posted by milosav2
Thank you for clearing that up for me. So would you say the actual "clicking" sound comes from the plunger in this gif:

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikiped.../Injector3.gif

?
The light metallic, less-frequent "tapping" is most likely a lifter. The more frequent, lower-pitched clicks or "sewing machine sounds" are the fuel injectors, with a small amount of valve seat closing tossed in for good measure. The injectors are surprisingly noisy.