Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice for the first time scrubs purchaser/user

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2017, 08:57 AM
Bossdog
Racer

Received 73 Likes on 54 Posts
Default Advice for the first time scrubs purchaser/user

I have decided to start my 2017 HPDE season with a 18x10.5 square set up on scrubs. I am an intermediate level driver, not likely to leave this classification with only 2 or 3 weekends each year. I have participated in about 25 HPDE track days, none in my recently acquired Z06. The Z has Pfadt Featherlight coilovers, stock sway bars and improved breathing for the engine, in and out. I'm not a 10/10ths driver trying to take a half second off my time, I rarely even time myself.
Good audible feedback for the tire would be a plus

any Recommendations on type/brand of tire I should be looking for and good sources to purchase from.

thanks

Last edited by Bossdog; 01-18-2017 at 08:58 AM.
Old 01-18-2017, 11:05 AM
brkntrxn
Drifting

Received 51 Likes on 42 Posts

If you need audible feedback from the tires, you need to stick with a 100 tread wear or above. Think NT01s or R888s. Even those will not "sing" very loudly to you as you start the slip angle like a street tire, but will get louder the more they slip.

The softer r-comps (A7/R7s) will not "talk" to you until they start "growling" very late in their slip angle.
Old 01-18-2017, 11:49 AM
Bossdog
Racer

Originally Posted by brkntrxn
If you need audible feedback from the tires, you need to stick with a 100 tread wear or above. Think NT01s or R888s. Even those will not "sing" very loudly to you as you start the slip angle like a street tire, but will get louder the more they slip.

The softer r-comps (A7/R7s) will not "talk" to you until they start "growling" very late in their slip angle.
Thanks for the input.