Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] Buying a Z06

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2017, 01:26 AM
Jeremy91
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying a Z06

Hey guys hoping someone can help me out with this. I've been looking to buy a c6 Z for a couple years now and finally my finances are in order. Anyways I've found a 2006 with only 12000kms but it's been parked (heated garage) for 4 years now. I've been told every spring it gets fired up and it's oil changed and two years ago fuel stabilizer was put in. I'm no mechanic so I'm not too sure what to look for or worry about but I know it's not a good thing to park a vehicle for that long. It's super low kms and owned by an older lady so it's almost definitely been babied. Any input on what to look for would be very appreciated. Thanks!
Old 01-19-2017, 07:54 AM
CorsoZ06
Pro

Received 245 Likes on 123 Posts

Has it been on a battery tender? Hopefully so. There's really not a huge deal letting a modern car sit for an extended (years) period. Putting it away with fresh oil is a biggie and it look like they were cognizant of that. Fuel stabilizer is the other, and that too seems to have been addressed. Climate controlled garage is the icing on the cake.

I would go look at the car, inspect for rodent damage as best you can. Check oil and coolant, just to make sure they are at adequate levels more than anything. Start up the car and let it idle until full operating temperature. Chances are there will be no drama.