C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

New to me C4, too much oil?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2017, 08:52 PM
Powerstroked89
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New to me C4, too much oil?

I just picked up a new to me 94 C4 with an auto transmission. Car runs great, just has a rough idle, it needs more interior work than anything.

I was planning on draining all the fluids once I got home. I check the oil, clean the dipstick and every time I am consistently getting 1-2" of oil on the stick above the level indicators. I am thinking overfilled and I am worried the previous owner might have damaged this engine by overfill.

Saving grace is he didn't drive it much and I only drove it home. car drives great, occasional rough idle which I attribute to plugs.

If I drain and put in 4.5 quarts, what are the odds there was any damage done previously, is there anyway to tell?

I am new to all this still, I am a mechanical apprentice who bought the car to supplement my learning on the side.

Thanks for your time.

Last edited by Powerstroked89; 01-19-2017 at 08:52 PM.
Old 01-19-2017, 08:59 PM
95wht6spd
Le Mans Master

Received 271 Likes on 211 Posts

I always put in 5 with a new filter.
Old 01-19-2017, 09:03 PM
Powerstroked89
Instructor

Originally Posted by 95wht6spd
I always put in 5 with a new filter.
Are you saying 5 would account for the excess oil on the dipstick past the marker?
Old 01-19-2017, 09:10 PM
WVZR-1
Team Owner

Received 2,259 Likes on 2,022 Posts

What is the part# on the dipstick? A '94 I'd expect a 10108430. If that's the stick that's in it then a change using OE capacities should put the level at the FULL indication. If the dipstick has that ID and a factory fill does something different then you need to determine why.
Old 01-19-2017, 09:25 PM
Powerstroked89
Instructor

Originally Posted by WVZR-1