C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Headlight - Silly me!

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2017, 10:44 PM
Chuck Little
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Headlight - Silly me!

I had a bump on my pride and joy a while back and need a new headlight assembly for my baby. I stuck my nose where it didn't belong and now my wonderful Victory Red ride sits, while the Chevrolet body shop says the headlight is on national backorder.

Can this be true? Have I owned this car for four plus years and never realized that parts can be that hard to come by???

They called me today to tell me it is scheduled to be "built", the end of February. REALLY???

I am just surprised is all. I miss my baby!

Many would think that I am saving storage fees being that I live in mid-Michigan, but usually I drive it every day. I am a driver, not a garage queen lover. Not making any judgement calls here.

Do I just not get it? Or is this just a bit unusual???
Old 01-19-2017, 11:00 PM
buckmeister2
Le Mans Master

Received 1,206 Likes on 824 Posts

Hmmm...so you are parked until March, huh? Wow. I did a quick spin on ebay and saw that there are several complete sets for around $1000 for the two, and many more left or right side for between $350 and $550, all reported to be complete working units. No doubt they will have some hazing, or maybe a few scratches. Don't know what side or color you needed, but I bet there is one available. You could have bought a usable headlight to keep your car on the road while waiting for the new one. After you got the new one, you could sell the old one for what you paid.

There are probably folks on this forum that could have hooked you up with a working headlight, too.
Old 01-20-2017, 12:02 AM
psp6158
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 228 Likes on 177 Posts