C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Didn't pass Inspection

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2017, 08:59 PM
D0ppler
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Didn't pass Inspection

I went in to get an inspection today on my 13' Z.To my surprise it failed, tint level is at 16% and the minimum 25%. I am the 2nd owner and it's my first time to get it inspected.Any suggestions out there. Hate to peel it off. Thanks for your replies.
Old 02-21-2017, 09:02 PM
jackhammond21
Advanced

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Find a shady shop, had to do that with my truck first place failed it due to tint, no cats and headlight color, second place the shady place was $150 but they didn't even look at the truck and just filled out the sticker and stuck it on this was in San Antonio
Old 02-21-2017, 09:17 PM
D0ppler
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by jackhammond21
Find a shady shop, had to do that with my truck first place failed it due to tint, no cats and headlight color, second place the shady place was $150 but they didn't even look at the truck and just filled out the sticker and stuck it on this was in San Antonio
Really 150? The 2nd place I went to I parked the car in the sun,Told the 22ish guy what happened, he came out to look at it put the tint gauge on and said yea it's below 25%. But with it in the sun you can see right through the car. So he said "Ill pass it". I was like HELL YEA! So I threw him a 20, plus the 25 for the inspection of course.
Old 02-22-2017, 01:51 PM
EVRGRN
Burning Brakes

Received 343 Likes on 200 Posts

What state do you live in? NY for example just recently imposed tint level inspection as part of the annual vehicle inspection.

As jackhammond21 mentioned, you can sometimes find shops that will overlook some things, but that's likely becoming increasingly rare, especially if you're just someone in off the street.
Old 02-22-2017, 02:02 PM
LMB-Z