Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] Tick tick engine

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2017, 10:29 PM
DanMan35
Burning Brakes

Received 153 Likes on 74 Posts

Default Tick tick engine

I know all about the valve guide issue on the LS7 motor. But I also have heard that the LS7 is just naturally a noisier motor than most. I'm not a mechanic but I know in most cars if there is a tick tick tick noise in the motor it isn't exactly normal.

In regards to the LS7 motor if you hear a tick tick tick sound in the motor is that normal because the LS7 motor is noisier than most or does that mean something is wrong (I'm referring to the valve guide issue). I am planning on having the heads done but I just want to get this clarified.

Does the tick tick mean there is a problem? Or is it pretty normal for this engine?
Old 02-23-2017, 10:52 PM
LMB-Z
Le Mans Master

Received 441 Likes on 395 Posts

If my LS7 was making a tick tick tick noise, I would run. It may be a bomb.

Slow down and take a deep breath. LS7's are noisier than most engines. What you may be hearing is the fuel rails. Have the heads on your car been checked or replaced?
Old 02-23-2017, 10:59 PM
DanMan35
Burning Brakes

I just bought the car last week. As far as the previous owner could tell me, no, the heads have not been addressed. I am not going to be one of these naïve people that says "it will never happen to me" but I will say the car has 66,500 miles on it. I figure if a valve were to drop it would have dropped by now.