Hard to Start

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2017, 11:10 AM
raymondtormey
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hard to Start

Good morning,
I am a novice mechanic at best, so I hope this question isn't too dumb.
I've got a 1969 Small Block Stingray that I'm trying to get it started after sitting for 3 months. The engine was turning, but nothing was catching, after a few tries I let it sit, tried again and in mid crank it just stopped. Now I get nothing when I turn the key, no click. I checked the battery and it's fine, so I assume it's the starter, is there any way to check the starter without removing it from the car?
For some reason, I feel like it might be something electrical.
I also have the center gauge cluster dismantled because I am working on replacing some of the gauges, most the wires are disconnected, would this have something to do with it?
Just looking for some direction.

Thanks
Old 02-24-2017, 12:09 PM
MelWff
Race Director

Received 1,816 Likes on 1,605 Posts

how did you test the battery, what voltage reading did you get?
you can try jumping the solenoid from the main battery connection to the terminal with the purple wire.

Last edited by MelWff; 02-24-2017 at 12:12 PM.
Old 02-24-2017, 01:00 PM
raymondtormey
Heel & Toe

I just used a Volt Meter to test it, and it still had good voltage. I'm going to get it tested at a parts store this afternoon. When I had the volt meter on the battery and turned on the lights, the voltage dropped, but when I turned the key to start it, it didn't drop at all. That's why I am wondering if it's something electrical that I screwed up. Even with a bad starter, I would think that it would still draw some current... but I don't really know.
Old 02-24-2017, 03:04 PM
MelWff
Race Director

Received 1,816 Likes on 1,605 Posts

what voltage reading did the battery show with the lights on?
Old 02-24-2017, 06:05 PM
raymondtormey
Heel & Toe

Nothing on = 12.55 Volts
Lights on = 12.24 Volts
Turning key = 12.55 Volts