C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

clutch replacement

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2017, 03:15 PM
ccporter
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default clutch replacement

I am sure this has been asked before but i am not very good at searching for stuff. To replace the clutch would it be easier and quicker to pull the motor, or at least pull the radiator out and slide the motor forward and leave the rear cradle alone? I am getting ready to have to do this and dont really want to have to pull the rear end out. Also what is the damage that could happen if i let the motor rest against the firewall?
Old 03-14-2017, 02:09 PM
Chicago1
Race Director

Received 321 Likes on 208 Posts

I have done my clutch a few times and you will NOT hit the firewall when you drop the rear cradle. The rear end is very easy to pull out and I mean easy..I think I can do my clutch in a few here is the how to just download it ..

https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...l-guide-5.html
Old 03-14-2017, 03:05 PM
ccporter
Intermediate

what would you recomend for a clutch? i was thinking about doing a cheap luk clutch kit from summit.

Last edited by ccporter; 03-14-2017 at 03:09 PM. Reason: adding more information
Old 03-14-2017, 03:07 PM
Pounder
1/4 mile/AutoX
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,081 Likes on 1,634 Posts

make sure you mark the flywheel and pressure plate position for engine balance !!! (or find a thread on this) Bill Curlee has a great write up !!!
Old 03-14-2017, 03:08 PM
ccporter
Intermediate

also the car is pretty well stock, may see a few runs at the track just to see what it will do, i dont plan on doing any mods for a few years and kinda on a tight budget right now
Old 03-14-2017, 03:21 PM
Chicago1
Race Director