Southeast Alabama | Arkansas | Florida | Georgia | Kentucky | Louisiana | Mississippi | North Carolina | South Carolina | Tennessee | Virginia

Driving a new purchase Tampa-Atlanta. Advice? Temp plates?

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2013, 06:19 PM
150kWh
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Driving a new purchase Tampa-Atlanta. Advice? Temp plates?

I think I might have found "the one" in Tampa. Considering to drive it back through Atlanta but I know there are some infamous speed traps, both along 75 and also perhaps the more scenic 441, especially in Georgia. I am a resident of Alabama.

My goal here is to enjoy the trip, ticket free. Advice welcome!

(Important: note date of posting--I hope to be driving in about 6 days)

I have spare AL plates, but they are not currently registered. In Alabama, we literally are instructed to make our own temp tags saying "Tag applied for" when we buy a car. I doubt this will fly in Florida, and maybe not GA either.

Question #1: Will the seller need to keep his FL plates?

If so, I've read that Florida offers temporary tags, but I'll buy the car when the DMV is closed, and I will be out of the state on Sunday. What I could look up .. From http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/faqmotor.html#9
Non-residents also are eligible to secure a temporary license plate for "in-transit" purposes if they purchase a vehicle in Florida and want to drive it back home. However, proof of insurance (from Florida or home state) and sales tax in the amount required by the home state must be paid. If you feel you may be eligible for a temporary license plate, inquire through your local tax collector's office or the regional DMV office that serves your area.
I get the need for insurance, but how am I supposed to pay AL taxes on a car I haven't bought or registered yet?! Unless they mean pay FL the same amount of the AL tax, which.. er.. doesn't make ANY sense for a temp tag. ... on a Sunday.