Southern California Southern California

Rinseless Water-Saving Car Wash

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2015, 12:34 PM
Algiers
Pro

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Rinseless Water-Saving Car Wash

Hey Southern California people. Since this drought doesn't seem to be ending anytime soon, I wanted to share this link from the C7 forum for a very quick and effective way to wash your car. I've been doing this technique for a few months and it gets great results while only using 2-3 gallons of water. As an added bonus, it only takes about 15-20 minutes.

I'm sure a lot of you are already aware of this but I wanted to bring it up since water-saving is getting more and more critical.

https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...seriously.html
Old 04-29-2015, 02:55 PM
calguy
Drifting

Received 150 Likes on 96 Posts

Originally Posted by Algiers
Hey Southern California people. Since this drought doesn't seem to be ending anytime soon, I wanted to share this link from the C7 forum for a very quick and effective way to wash your car. I've been doing this technique for a few months and it gets great results while only using 2-3 gallons of water. As an added bonus, it only takes about 15-20 minutes.

I'm sure a lot of you are already aware of this but I wanted to bring it up since water-saving is getting more and more critical.

I have a better way, and water consumed is about one pint, or less.

To begin with, I have owned vehicles for the better part of 60 years, and not one of them ever saw a car wash.
The only time they ever saw any kind of soap was before a major detailing job.
The only thing soap does, is eat away at the wax coating.
Now, especially here in SoCal, where it hardly ever rains, my system is just about full proof.

First off, detail the car, which means claying,and a final wax job.
After that, a couple of times a week, take a damp rag, wipe an area about 3 feet, then buff with a good dry soft rag.
Do this preferably in the shade, and when the finish is cool.