Wheels & Tires Corvette Wheel & Tire Sizing Info, Staggered Fitment, Tread Compound, Tire Pressure, size option
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

13 Year Old Tires With Low Mileage - Safe?

Old 02-28-2008, 10:43 AM
NittanyLionDen
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 13 Year Old Tires With Low Mileage - Safe?

I recently purchased a 1995 Coupe with 12,000 miles on it. The tires are original. Is it safe to drive at high speeds in excess of 100 mph on these tires or should I replace them just to be safe. Visually, they look fine, but I'm not an expert. Any opinions or practical experiences are appreciated. Thanks.
Old 02-28-2008, 12:05 PM
leadfoot4
Team Owner

Received 1,339 Likes on 1,092 Posts

safe?? NO!!
Old 02-28-2008, 04:35 PM
J.R.
Drifting

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

NO,NOhttps://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/images/smilies/iagree.gif
Old 02-28-2008, 05:36 PM
Biggie G
Drifting

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts

yep...definatly not...even if they look nice and pretty...dont ride on them....I wouldnt even keep them for spares....they will bust imediatly after hiting a pothole or simular.....
Old 02-29-2008, 08:29 AM
EVIL_C5
Uber Waxer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Cruise-In 8-9-10-11 Veteran
CI 9, 10 & 11 Car Show Winner
St. Jude Donor '08-'10

remove them, and put them in bags and put them away. you will be suprised in 10 or 15 years what they will be worth if they just hold air.

When I was getting my 87 GN ready for concours judging, I was looking for 4 perfect Eagle GT tires that are no longer maid and it cost me over a grand to get 4 that were nice and 4 that were ok and none of them were anything you would want to drive around on. just simply for the judges. the NCRS people will be looking for those tires soon enough.
Old 03-01-2008, 08:25 AM
johnkos
Heel & Toe