Wheels & Tires Corvette Wheel & Tire Sizing Info, Staggered Fitment, Tread Compound, Tire Pressure, size option
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Nitto 05 vs 05R vs Hoosier Advice

Old 10-24-2013, 10:42 AM
Mosler MT 900S
Intermediate

Received 8 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Nitto 05 vs 05R vs Hoosier Advice

I have been running Hoosier A-6's for 2 years now and it is time to make a change. I am really tired of two issues number one the rocks it throws on the car, and the lack of stick when it gets cold out. Another Mosler owner was using the NT-05R with a 680 HP car and he said they hooked up and did not spin. He suggested I use them on the rear and the best Michelins available on the front.

I am currently running 345/30/19 on the rear and 285/30/18 on the front. The car is a Mosler that weighs 2,400 pounds and has 800 HP at the crank.

I was hoping I could find someone with experience with these tires on the street. I called Nitto direct and one of their distributers but I had no luck for advice.

I am mostly concerned with the weaker sidewall on the R's for handling but the question I can not get a firm answer on is how bad it will actually affect handling. My un-educated thought is that it can't be that bad since it is a 30 series tire and there isn't that much sidewall to begin with.

I would appreciate any advice i can get.
Old 11-01-2013, 06:11 PM
Mosler MT 900S
Intermediate

Received 8 Likes on 3 Posts

I posted this on 2 forums and there have been very few replies. Maybe with some more specific information someone here will have some recent experience they could relate.

The best advice I have been given so far is that the 05R's will connect even with the HP I have. What I am looking for here is to compare how each tire will perform under hard acceleration.

So if I switch to the 05R's I was worried that they will have week sidewalls necessary for acceleration but bad for handling.