Audio/Electronics Stereo System Installation Info, Amplifiers, Subwoofers, Radar Detectors, Police Scanners, and CB Radios for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

C6 Stereo Options

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2006, 01:08 PM
cmb13
Le Mans Master

Received 8 Likes on 3 Posts

Default C6 Stereo Options

I've been getting various questions about what to do with the stereo in the C6 to upgrade it. There are tons of possibilities, limited by imagination and budget. I figured I'd list some options.

First of all, this discussion is based around a Nav unit, as that is what I have and know. I'm sure the other Bose systems are similar, and the options may be applicable to them as well. Also, these are just my opinions, and I'm a layman / enthusiast. Others may have different opinions; please feel free to contribute / contradict / whatever.

See my thread and others in the C6 FAQ section for details on wiring, mounting, and other technical aspects of the process.

Questions:

1. Can you use an external amp with the Bose door subs. No, you cannot use an external amp with the Bose door subs. Actually, you can, but it requires a lot of rewiring and disconnecting the amp that is built into the subs, not worth it. You're better off buying a new amp and new speakers, imo.

2. What kind of system can I build using the existing head unit? There are several options, from low cost to high cost. Here are the options.
a. Keep door subs, replace mids and maybe add 1" tweeter, add amp for them. You can keep the Bose amp or replace it. Better to replace it, as more power will improve the sound dramatically if you have purchased decent speakers. Make that much better to replace it!
b. Replace door subs with a similar 10" driver (hard to find) or a 6.5" driver (easier). Will definitely need a new amp, but will get much better sound. A single amp can drive the drivers and the mids / tweeters by using a crossover.