Audio/Electronics Stereo System Installation Info, Amplifiers, Subwoofers, Radar Detectors, Police Scanners, and CB Radios for the Corvette

C4 Complete Audio Install write-up (HU, amp, speakers, subs)

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2006, 12:33 AM
Teddydog
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default C4 Complete Audio Install write-up (HU, amp, speakers, subs)

I just finished a complete stereo upgrade in my 96 Collector’s Edition (C4) and thought you all might like to see the results and a write-up. I really appreciate all the help to be found here and I hope this write-up will help fill in some gaps for others wanting to do the same. I have never done a full-on car stereo install before, but have done some bits here and there. I was replacing a non-Bose system that was using a Bose CD HU and aftermarket Infinity speakers (I though I was going to be doing a Bose-ectomy, but once I got into it I found that the only Bose was the HU).

So far I like the sound and have just two issues to take care of: the HU mount looks like carp due to the lousy Metra kit and the right rear speaker grill is rattling badly and needs to be fixed (sounds great with it off). I will track down VRUMVRUM and get a better mount for the Kenwood over the winter, but it is OK for right now. I will probably do quite a bit of fiddling with the Amp settings…I’ve never had a car audio amp before. If anyone local is good with this type of thing, I would like to have another hand and ear!

The install consists of:

HU: Kenwood Excelon KDC-X590 ($229 including antenna adapter & extension and wiring harness adapter from Crutchfield)
Amp: Elemental Designs nine.4, rated 65w x 4 ($198 delivered from ED)
Front: Polk db5250 5 ¼” component speakers ($130 delivered via eBay)
Rear: Rockford Fosgate P18S4 8” subwoofers ($73 pair from Crutchfield)
Misc: eDead sound deadener ($26 with lots left over for later), Knukonceptz amp hookup ($33), wire, shop mat’ls