Audio/Electronics Stereo System Installation Info, Amplifiers, Subwoofers, Radar Detectors, Police Scanners, and CB Radios for the Corvette

Upgrade for 2008 Coupe in stages

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2011, 10:42 AM
Craig P
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Upgrade for 2008 Coupe in stages

I am very new to the world of audio and would first like say this is truly an amazing resource for information and learning. That so many people give so freely of their hard earned knowledge and valuable time is just astounding.

I have several questions for all of the experts/vendors here.

I am looking at upgrading the sound system in my 2008 Corvette Coupe which has the (non-nav) Bose system.

I eventually want to replace the head unit with a high end Kenwood with nav but can’t afford that step yet.

My goal is to upgrade the speaker system first and then put the Kenwood unit in later.

The components I currently have are a Kicker ZX350.4 4-channel speaker amp with 350 watts RMS, Polk Audio DB351 3.5 inch coaxial front speakers and Polk Audio DB521 5.25 inch rear speakers.

These will be connected using the PAC ADD-GM24 modified (per TheKomoman method) to send the line level signals to the amp for the front and rear speakers.

I was not planning on replacing the Bose 10 inch subs in the doors.

I would also like to add tweeters in the front pillars.
My questions are how to do this?
What are the best tweeters to use?
How to wire them?
Does anyone supply modified pillars to do this?
I would be interested in all suggestions and also suggestions and prices from vendors.

Any suggestions to mount the amp so it will not be seen?

Also, will all these speakers, etc. work well with a Kenwood unit when I can afford to upgrade.

Is there a better choice such as replacing the Bose subs with something else?

I am not too crazy about taking up room in the back to install a rear sub.
Old 05-03-2011, 03:28 PM
kedar
Drifting

Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
St. Jude Donor '12