Audio/Electronics Stereo System Installation Info, Amplifiers, Subwoofers, Radar Detectors, Police Scanners, and CB Radios for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Aftermarket HU power tie in's

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2011, 11:54 AM
x_newfie_x
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aftermarket HU power tie in's

Ok, I am new at this and have a couple of questions. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Car is a 2002 Z06.

1. Can I just tap into the cigerette lighter for power and ground?

2. Fuse 22. i have read this to be an option. If I were to go here, how do I tie in to the empty fuse bay? What do I use to fasten the acc wire to the fuse bay? I tried connector ends, however they seem to lose.

3. Would there be any problems if I run the acc wire straight to the battery post?

I tied into the beige wire on the HVAC unit for the illum feed.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Old 06-19-2011, 01:45 PM
0Double D Mods
Former Vendor
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 132 Likes on 101 Posts
St. Jude Donor '12-'13

Originally Posted by x_newfie_x
Ok, I am new at this and have a couple of questions. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Car is a 2002 Z06.

1. Can I just tap into the cigerette lighter for power and ground?

2. Fuse 22. i have read this to be an option. If I were to go here, how do I tie in to the empty fuse bay? What do I use to fasten the acc wire to the fuse bay? I tried connector ends, however they seem to lose.

3. Would there be any problems if I run the acc wire straight to the battery post?

I tied into the beige wire on the HVAC unit for the illum feed.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
what are you using for harness?
a gm harness
or keeping factory speakers and using a harness sucj as an roem-vet1(recommended) or the metra xsv1-2004?

here is some more info for you to see how things are wired
http://www.doubledmods.com/Installation.php
Old 06-19-2011, 05:45 PM
x_newfie_x
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts