Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

M6 or M12 for Road Racing and FRC?

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2007, 11:48 AM
ForceFedC5
Melting Slicks

Received 39 Likes on 35 Posts

Default M6 or M12 for Road Racing and FRC?

Well.. I've been bitten by the Road Racing bug!

(I can still see the mark!)

I haven't decided whether or not it will be heads, cam or maybe even a stroker motor.

I want to upgrade my transmission as well and I plan on keeping the stock 342's.

I'm going to have an RPM transmission installed. Would I be better off with the M6 or a close ratio M12? I'm not opposed to putting in GForce 5th and 6th as well.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance!
Old 05-31-2007, 12:14 PM
TmillerC5
Drifting

Received 21 Likes on 12 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08

I am no expert but I would keep the M6 and spend all your other money on seat time , brake pads, fluid and the rotors you will go through. Head, cam stuff is great but, get really good at driving and have good brakes. The car is pretty fast as it is. Did I mention the seat time
Just my .02
Tim
Old 05-31-2007, 12:38 PM
ForceFedC5
Melting Slicks

Yeap. I'm definately going to be getting seat time.

I have to replace my trans anyway and it won't cost me anymore to go with the M12 so I was wondering which one I would be better off with?

Thanks!
Old 05-31-2007, 12:44 PM
AU N EGL
Team Owner

Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts

Originally Posted by TmillerC5
I am no expert but I would keep the M6 and spend all your other money on seat time , brake pads, fluid and the rotors you will go through. Head, cam stuff is great but, get really good at driving and have good brakes. The car is pretty fast as it is. Did I mention the seat time
Just my .02
Tim
With Tim.

Dont do any if any at all HP up grades for a long time. Seat time and more seat time is the best OPTION.