Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

battery straps?

Old 06-19-2008, 03:46 PM
ragged claws
Pro

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default battery straps?

Pardon the stupid question but I'm an autocross newbie and am trying to prep my car for my first event. My battery is not tied down and I understand that this is an autox requirement. What do you all use to secure your batteries? My car is an '89 coupe.

Thanks, Kim
Old 06-19-2008, 05:41 PM
ghoffman
Le Mans Master

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cruise-In II Veteran

Not stupid at all! I had to deal with this last week when I put in a Optima battery in my C6ZO6. I made it from 1.25 inch square aluminum bar stock.

Old 06-19-2008, 06:34 PM
Aardwolf
Race Director

Received 368 Likes on 304 Posts

Kim, the stock hold down has always passed tech here for me. You may need racers tape on the pos battery terminal though. You could ask a fellow racer for a small strip if needed when your there. I had a lucky charm piece that lasted years.
Old 06-19-2008, 06:43 PM
c4cruiser
Team Owner

Received 475 Likes on 422 Posts
NCM Sinkhole Donor

Most of the sanctioning bodies will allow the OEM battery hold down to pass tech. Just make sure the bolt is tight and that the plastic block is sitting in the notch at the bottom of the battery case.
Old 06-19-2008, 07:53 PM
ragged claws
Pro

Originally Posted by c4cruiser
Most of the sanctioning bodies will allow the OEM battery hold down to pass tech. Just make sure the bolt is tight and that the plastic block is sitting in the notch at the bottom of the battery case.
I don't seem to have the OEM hold down. Maybe the previous owner replaced the battery and tossed the hold down (and the front license plate!).
Old 06-19-2008, 07:59 PM
c4cruiser
Team Owner

Received 475 Likes on 422 Posts
NCM Sinkhole Donor