Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Setup/Alignment Recommendations & Help Please

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2008, 10:46 AM
whosurdaddy
Instructor

Received 29 Likes on 16 Posts

Default Setup/Alignment Recommendations & Help Please

There is much material on this forum about alignment spec's, though I'd like to confirm my thoughts for my C6 Z06 with you guys who generally know way more than I do.

I am an intermediate/advanced driver running 2.14's at VIR Full, 2.13's Watkins Glen and 1.21's at Summit Point (re-paved) Raceway. I run with PS2's and track pads - currently Carbotech XP8's because 10's overpower the street rubber.

The current alignment is:
- Lowered to the bottom of stock bolts
- Front -1.7* camber, Max Caster, 0* Toe
- Rear -1.2* camber, 3* Toe In

- While my rears tires are fairly new 345's, my fronts are 1/2 done 295's.
- I drive my car a good bit on the street, though its still a 3rd car.

I'd like to dial out some understeer, while I realize I'll be living with some as my fronts are a bit older. I recently looked at video of David Farmer driving his Z06 around VIR, and compared his 2.11 lap side by side one of my 2.14's. I did notice that he puts in less steering input at some of the places I am most unhappy with understeer (T1 & T5 for example).

I am sure that some of this is skill (syncronization of steering input with throttle & brake), but I'm also betting that some of it is set up related.

So I am thinking that its time to put some Toe Out up front. Any recommendations to my current setup? How many degrees of Toe Out do I go for? I hear 1/8" per wheel, but don't know what that translates to in degrees.

Thanks in advance for suggestions and commentary.
Old 07-04-2008, 01:52 PM
WNDOPDLR
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts