Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to Improve my instructor value in HPDE?

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2008, 10:30 AM
gkull
Team Owner

Received 1,327 Likes on 1,057 Posts

Default How to Improve my instructor value in HPDE?

I've been doing the ride along driving instructor and even sometimes driving the owners cars while talking them through the course. My problems is i wonder how much I'm really helping even though I have 20+ years of road course experience.

I talk and use the basic hand signals. I try to never get assigned to slow underpowered cars - they drive me nuts. I've been lucky and have only been afraid to ride with one driver.

It also doesn't help to get out of my BP car and run over and immediately climb in a car going out on the next run group on a different shorter coarse for HPDE classes

Do you guys have any helpful hints?
Old 07-12-2008, 10:44 AM
Bill Hetzel
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey george, where you been? Are you doing the Time Trials next weekend? I'll be doing tech and possibily instructing.

The best thing to have is an intercom but you have to layout $120 to get a decent one. They make so easy to tell the student what he has to do on the next lap to correct the mistake in that perticular corner.

The hardest thing for me is to remember what the guy did incorrectly on the last lap especially if he's doing multiple corners wrong. So, I pick only 2 to 3 corners in each session to work on.

I also use trackmaps on debrief and have the guys actually pencil in their lines or make notes on what to work on in the next session. I also frequently put the map in front of the guy 2 mniutes before he goes out to visualize what to work on and imprint this in his brain.
Old 07-12-2008, 11:04 AM
ShadowLight
Racer